Kindle is dead. Long live the Kindle!

My trusty DO1200 Kindle died. I received it as a gift from my mom about 3-4 years ago, and this past week the screen went all Etch-a-sketch on me. ย I tried the various fixes. I gave it medicine. I tried to nurse that thing back to health. But it was all to no avail. I failed.

Being a good failure, I ordered another one from my Great Amazon Overlord.

Me: Oh GOA, please send me another Kindle.

GOA: What did you do to the last one?

Me: It’s an Etch-a-sketch.

GOA: User error. You broke it.

Me: No, it just stopped working. Maybe it’s a warranty defect.

GOA: …

Me: Hello? So send me a new one.

GOA: $55.

Me: Here.

GOA: ๐Ÿ˜€

Yar, that’s the deal. It got here today. It’s charcoal grey, and looks the same in screen size, but there’s no button on the front, like the old one. I do not like change. I want a button. I may glue a piece of round plastic on it so I’ll have something to mash when I need a placebo.

Now to see what books I need to download on it. ย Anyone want to send me a nice free book or two? I’ll give you reviews. Which reminds me, I need to drop a review on Kurt Brindley’s book. Sorry about the delay, Kurt.

31 thoughts on “Kindle is dead. Long live the Kindle!

  1. Wow, you are lucky that GOA sent you a new one for $55… I have a paperwhite and love it. I would be lost without it, but I am still very much attached to books. Enjoy the Kindle!

    Like

  2. I was slightly off. It was $59 for the regular e-reader touch, and California charged me $5.90 to live in the state and have the privilege of buying stuff. I actually prefer the kindle to books, mostly because I can carry 50 books with me, whereas with the physical ones, it’s just one lousy book, and my bookshelves are pretty thin these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a love/love relationship with my Paperwhite. It’s my fourth Kindle, too, and probably the best yet. Its predecessors have all been passed on at low or no cost to family and friends, and are, as far as I know, all still in regular use. I wouldn’t want to be without it.

    Like

      • I haven’t seen the touch, but this one scores over the others I have had (he first three iterations) in that it is usable in all conditions from bright sunlight to total darkness. I read a lot in bed at night, and appreciate not having to have a bright light on. The only downside is that the battery doesn’t stay charged as long, but that’s not a bad price to pay.
        I have tried reading on an iPad, but that’s a non-starter for me. Too bright and harsh in darkness and unusable in bright light.

        Like

        • It’s funny. Consider that we are so particular about what we eRead on. Once you get over the ereader hump of accepting them, you become attached to a certain way or look or features.

          And, blasphemous horror, I can change the fonts on your book! Wahaahahahaha! The indignant authors on that one amuse me.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I go for ease and comfort every time. I know that when I increase the font size (it’s an age thing) or even change the font, it risks screwing up whatever formatting the author put in place, but I’m only interested in the words anyway. Isn’t that why we write; so people can read our words? Fancy formatting may help market a book, but when it’s in the reader’s hands, it shouldn’t get in the way of the reader’s enjoyment of the words.

            Like

            • I think we’re on the same page on this. I received a word file of a book to beta read (which I need to get back to) and the first thing I did was change the font and size, and then threw some styles on that sucker so the spacing between lines and the margins were more acceptable for my joy of reading.
              It made an enormous difference. Does it change what the author writes? Maybe. Having large print instead of small print, that’s fine. You want serifs or san serifs? Change away.

              Liked by 1 person

  4. I had exactly the same problem with mine, after a couple of years it went; nutso (that’s a technical term, by the way). I contacted Amazon, and was asked to telephone them – from Australia – to discuss the issue, I decided it was easier to use Kindle software on my Samsung tablet for now, but I will have to give-in and buy another one, sometime in the near future.

    Like

    • I have mixed feelings about them. At first, I was conflicted. An eReader seemed so newfangled, and I didn’t think anyone would buy a kindle. They caught on, though, and I received one as a gift and that was my baby. I read a lot of books on it. And now it’s an etch a sketch. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ How long is the warranty good for, anyway? I haven’t checked, but figured mine was all expired and stuff.

      It was neat that the kindle I received already had my account and everything, so setup was a cinch. I plopped a few books on it, and it had synched with the old one so it’s like the same ol’ kindle, just black instead of gray.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree about the mixed feelings, but they’re a godsend when travelling, although, unfortunately; it’s too easy to just keep buying, and…… buying, and even more……buying, of books.
        After, I’d had mine a couple of years, I too assumed that the warranty had expired, perhaps I ought to check huh? :d

        Like

        • When I purchased my most recent Kindle… let’s call it Igor, shall we? When I purchased Igor, they offered me an extended warranty if I would only give them a small sum of money, which had at least two digits to the left of the decimal point. The warranty on yours, the natural warranty, probably expired within a year or two.

          The ease with which you can purchase books is intentional. That is absolutely manipulation by the people at Amazon. You “one click” to buy stuff, and it’s not painful or difficult to part with your money. (Wait. Did I just use scare quotes? I did!!) It’s just 1-click(tm)! I don’t remember whose blog discussed this, but this is a factor in people buying your stuff. If it’s too hard to buy your book, they won’t bother. If they have to make an account and go through all the pain of that to purchase, most will just pass and go on to the next thing which is easy to purchase… with 1-click.

          Liked by 1 person

            • 1 Click is Amazon’s way of skipping all the money part of the transaction, where you might say, “this isn’t a very good idea to spend $200 on books when I have a credit card debt I’m paying 25% interest on.” You can click to your heart’s content. Amazon doesn’t care nor have to deal with the heartache of carrying crippling debt year after year.

              I tend to be parsimonious with the 1 click, when I can. It does make it easy for others to buy your books, however. That’s the tradeoff.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Unfortunately, we humans have a predilection to spend without thinking….and women, well, as is commonly known; retailers love us ๐Ÿ˜€

                Like

              • There may be something to the gender difference, or it may be more based on the individual. Some people are naturally frugal, some are not. Breaking it down further, you get interesting character conflict if you have someone who is frugal but also driven to wear the most beautiful clothes. Chaos ensues!

                Liked by 1 person

              • Alright, Iโ€™ll put my hand up; I have days where I spend like there’s no tomorrow, then I have my real; parsimonious moments. Not normally, around chocolate though, so be warned ๐Ÿ˜€

                Like

              • I am sometimes overwhelmed by the amount of books that I need to read. Then I think, “no, I don’t.” And I’m okay. Buy a few good ones, and I’m okay. It helps that Kindle stuff is a low price point.

                Liked by 1 person

              • It’s not just books that overwhelm me, sometimes I receive so many newsletters they end up in my ‘read-later’ pile, and it’s growing day-by-day ๐Ÿ˜€

                Like

              • It makes you yearn for a paucity of reading.

                If only I had all this reading to do back when I had no books or poorly written books. [This combats the idea that all books back in the ancient days of brick and mortar publishing were good because they were edited. I assure you, they were not. Crappy plots with no typos or grammatical errors are still crappy plots. ๐Ÿ˜€ ]

                Liked by 1 person

              • Rest assured, I’m aware that not all ‘print’ books were correctly edited. I sat down yesterday, and spent the afternoon reading, and was so surprised at the typos I discovered, in work written by an author with 100 books to her name….I was very disappointed.

                Like

              • That’s surprising, but perhaps not. 100 books is a lot of content to edit, and maybe people were getting tired of her. “Beta read just one more novel.” “You’ve written 53. Is it the same as the last?” I found one typo, really an extra space, in White Bones. That’s it. The author had a curious affectation where he didn’t use a period after Mr. Just Mr Kelly. It was intentional, because it was consistent all the way through.

                Liked by 1 person

              • You could be right about people getting tired, I’ve discovered the context of her books aren’t really changing just the character’s names, which is such a shame. I guess; publishers & agents, find a good money-spinner and stick with them.

                Like

              • It’s difficult, if not impossible, to change the author voice, isn’t it? I suppose, after 30 or 40 books, you begin to try new and different things, such as changing the POV, or the type of genre or plot.

                Liked by 1 person

              • I guess as well, there’s the view; how easy it is to churn out books when you stick with the same style. And, if it brings the pennies rolling in, that’s always a consideration.

                Like

  5. Oops! Apologies. As I was saying, the battery life of the Fire is far less than the ordinary Kindle but once you have lighting and music and colour, it’s almost impossible to go back. I keep the original Kindle for emergencies but Fire all the way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cliffhanger!

    I considered the fire, but for price point purposes opted for the miserable plain Kindle. Perhaps some kind soul will gift me with one.

    Maybe I’ll win the lottery.

    Right, now, that didn’t work very well. Moving on.

    It is hard to go back to black and white television after you’ve had plasma, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

