Multiple character introduction makes me sad, and then, a surprise author visit on my Kindle! Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!

I opened my Kindle last night, and thought, “Maybe I’ll chew through that book some more that had the 12 new alien species introduced in 2 pages that was so durned hard to read.”  Note to writers: Introducing me to new characters is hard. I can meet about one a page, max, otherwise you’ve exceeded my name-retention-at-a-party buffer and I’ll be like, “whaaa? Who is this person again?”  When you mix that with making new aliens AND stick in a fantastic sequence where they’re all fighting, you are making me work really hard to read this book. I’m not a dummy, so I can get through it, it’s just that I’m going to have concentrate a great deal more to follow and I hope that the payoff down the road is worth it. There just a lot of clutter in the alien/character cavalcade. You feelin’ me here?

It’s the same effect if you have a bunch of new titles to learn in a made-up royalty, for instance. Just use Baron Earl whatever, and get it right, and it’s fine. Your fantasy titles make my head hurt.  I’m lookin at you, Edgar Rice Burroughs. (Who names their child “Rice”?) Kadar, Odwar, Padwar. Oh, I get it, you add a prefix to -war and get a rank. Tricky, tricky, John Carter series.

Anyways, then I see there’s a new book. Hey! There’s a new book! It’s from Leo Champion. Direct email to Kindle, for the win!

I started reading it, and of course the poor main character has a bad start (ship blows up) and it goes to worse within a few pages. I love how Leo puts his characters in a tree and then throws rocks at them. Big rocks.

So I read Leo’s book instead of the 12 Alien Book.  It was a win-win all the way around.

4 thoughts on “Multiple character introduction makes me sad, and then, a surprise author visit on my Kindle! Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!

        • Good point. Too chaotic. I’m not sure the best way to do the book in question – I want to get through the first part so I can see what the hoopla is about. The writing is okay- it’s just the throwing characters at me rapidly thing along with the combat and aliens has made it a bit confusing. Am I lazy as a reader?

          Like

Leave a Reply

