Story Engineering by Larry Brooks

Apparently, a lot of you know about this book. You’ve been holding out on me, why didn’t you tell me about it? This was recommended by a certain lady who is a proselytizer for story structure. Yep. Kristen.  Anyway, Larry talks about the six things that make for a great novel.  Being that I don’t want to make a mediocre or barely acceptable novel (or just learn how to spell acceptable. It’s got an a, not an i. Thanks spellcheck!), I thought I’d take Kristen’s advice, yet again, and look at this book.

So far, I’m through Concept, and beginning to chew through characterization. Everything makes a lot of sense, and except for Larry’s pontificating for the introduction and part one: what are the six… , you can skip to part Two: the first core competency if you  want to get to the meat of the matter. If you’re a pantser and you need some convincing, read the intro and part one, since they explain why the entire process is far and above better for your writing than any mulling through it creative scheme you might cling to.

No, really. That isn’t my opinion. That one is fact. Backed up by tons of data.

Right, so, I’ll let you know how it goes as I get further through this thing. It’ll be interesting to see what the results are…

Leave a Reply

