I need to see the plot. Yes, you can write pages of stuff. But show me the plot.

Why do publishers/partners etc. all want to see the book plot beforehand? Maybe I’m like Stephen King and you’ll see it when you get the entire book.

Yes, I know. I’m not Stephen King.  I don’t write by the seat of my pants. I’ll go back to plotting it out. The last plot didn’t survive the writing of a few pages, which points to the difficulty for me of sticking to a plan.  I think a synopsis of a few pages ought to do it; going to go back to Mr. Snowflake dude and see what he has to say about this. I remember there was the meat of doing a sales pitch on an unwritten book and this’ll be a cinch.

No, not the kind on a horse.

Where does that particular phrase come from, anyway?


Rain your wisdom down, oh reader. Do you agree? Disagree? Got something else to say? Inform, elucidate, build up! Post your comments below.

Leave a Reply

